

Staff Report for Decision

File Number: GOV-03

DATE OF MEETING NOVEMBER 7, 2022

AUTHORED BY KAREN ROBERTSON, DEPUTY CITY CLERK

SUBJECT REGIONAL DISTRICT OF NANAIMO DIRECTOR APPOINTMENTS

OVERVIEW

Purpose of Report

To obtain Council direction regarding appointments to the Regional District Board and establish voting assignments for each Director.

Recommendation

That Council:

- Appoint the eight Council members with the highest number of votes at the municipal election as Municipal Directors to the Regional District of Nanaimo Board and appoint the remaining Council member as the Alternate Municipal Director for the period 2022-NOV-07 – 2026-NOV-03 to coincide with the Council term; and
- 2. Assign 5 votes to each Municipal Director.

BACKGROUND

Under Section 198(1) of the *Local Government Act*, Council is required to appoint eight Council members as Municipal Directors to the Regional District of Nanaimo Board. In the past, Municipal Directors were appointed through a Council policy where appointments were made based on a combination of "experience" and "voter confidence". This meant that the eight Council members with the highest number of votes cast at the election were appointed as Directors. The remaining Councillor was appointed as the Alternate. That same policy also stated how many votes each Director received and that the appointments must be made yearly.

That policy was repealed on 2021-OCT-04 for the following reasons:

- the term "voter confidence" was slightly vague;
- the number of votes each Municipal Director receives changes based on Nanaimo's population; and
- Council has more flexibility in determining the length of term for Municipal Directors.

DISCUSSION

In the absence of a formal Council Policy, Council can appoint Municipal Directors at the pleasure of Council from amongst its members.

Should Council wish to continue with the past practise of appointing Municipal Directors based on experience and who received the highest number of votes during the election, staff recommend that Council select Option 1. The following table outlines the order of votes cast from highest to lowest:



Member of Council	Election Votes Cast
Leonard Krog	12,390
Paul Manly	10,366
Sheryl Armstrong	10,260
Ben Geselbracht	8,383
Ian Thorpe	8,040
Erin Hemmens	7,497
Janice Perrino	7,131
Tyler Brown	6,805
Hilary Eastmure	5,650

The number of votes assigned to the City (based on Nanaimo's recent census) has also increased from 37 to 40 (see attached letters). Previously the 37 votes, were allocated as follows:

- The Mayor 5 votes
- The four "appointed" Councillors with the highest number of votes received at the election were allocated 5 votes each; and
- The three remaining "appointed" Councillors were allocated 4 votes each.

With the increase to 40, each Director will be allocated 5 votes each.

In terms of how long Municipal Directors can be appointed to the Board, the previous Council Policy stated that the appointments must be considered yearly. Now that the policy has been repealed, Council has the flexibility to appoint Municipal Directors for the full Council term if desired. Should Council wish to make the appointments based on the full Council term (as outlined in Option 1), the term of office of a Municipal Director would only need to be revisited by Council if the Director ceases to be a member of Council before the next general election or another Directors takes office in the original Director's place.

In total, the Regional District of Nanaimo Board is comprised of nineteen directors. Representation is from the City of Nanaimo, District of Lantzville, City of Parksville and Town of Qualicum Beach along with seven unincorporated electoral areas. The RDN Board provides regional governance and various services throughout the east coast of Vancouver Island. Members appointed to the RDN Board also receive remuneration from the Regional District of Nanaimo. The in-augural meeting for those appointed to the Board will take place on Tuesday, November 8, 2022 at 1:00 pm.

OPTIONS

Option 1

That Council:

- Appoint the eight Council members with the highest number of votes at the municipal election as Municipal Directors to the Regional District of Nanaimo Board and appoint the remaining Council member as the Alternate Municipal Director for the period 2022-NOV-07 – 2026-NOV-03 to coincide with the Council term; and
- 2. Assign 5 votes to each Municipal Director.

By selecting option 1, Council would be appointing its Municipal Directors based on experience and those with the highest number of votes, which has been the past practise of Council. <u>Option 2</u>



- That Council appoint the following eight (8) members of Council (insert names here) as Municipal Directors to the Regional District Board, and appoint (insert name here) as the Alternate, for the period 2022-NOV-07-2026-NOV-03 to coincide with the Council term; and
- 2. Assign 5 votes to each Municipal Director.

By selecting option 2, Council would be appointing its Municipal Directors based on criteria other than experience and the highest number of votes.

Option 3

- 1. That Council appoint the following eight (8) members of Council (insert names here) as Municipal Directors to the Regional District Board, and appoint (insert name here) as the Alternate for a one year term; and
- 2. Assign 5 votes to each Municipal Director.

By selecting option 3, Council would appoint its Municipal Directors based on the highest number of votes, or other criteria, but for a term that would expire at the end of 2023. Under this option, Council would need to pass a motion to appoint its Municipal Directors on a yearly basis.

SUMMARY POINTS

- The City of Nanaimo is required to appoint eight Municipal Directors to the RDN Board.
- Council can appoint Municipal Directors based on experience and who had the highest number of votes or some other criteria
- Council can make Municipal Director appointments annual or for the Council term.

ATTACHMENTS:

Attachment 1 - CoN_RDN Board Composition and Voting Strength Attachment 2 - Nanaimo RD 2022 Voting Table

Submitted by:

Concurrence by:

Karen Robertson Deputy City Clerk Sheila Gurrie, Director of Legislative Services