

Information Report

File Number: 4200-01

DATE OF MEETING NOVEMBER 19, 2018

AUTHORED BY SHEILA GURRIE, CHIEF ELECTION OFFICER

SUBJECT 2018 ELECTION RESULTS

OVERVIEW

Purpose of Report

To advise Council of the 2018 General Local Election Results.

Recommendation

That the 2018 Election Results report dated, 2018-NOV-19, be received for information.

DISCUSSION

Attached are the official results of the General Local Election held 2018-OCT-20, to elect a Mayor and eight Councillors for the City of Nanaimo. Based on the final results of the election, the following individuals have been elected for the four year term commencing 2018-NOV-05.

Mayor: Leonard Krog

Councillors: Erin Hemmens Sheryl Dawn Armstrong Ben Geselbracht Tyler Brown Jim Turley Don Bonner Ian Thorpe Zeni Maartman

The number of valid votes cast during the 2018 General Election was 27,400 representing a 39.7% elector turnout.

In accordance with Section 158(1) of the *Local Government Act* the Chief Election Officer must submit a report of the election results to the local government.



SUMMARY POINTS

- One mayor and eight councillors were elected in the 2018 General Local Election.
- The Official Election Results were declared on October 24, 2018.

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment A: Declaration of Official Results Attachment B: Election Vote Results

Submitted by:

Sheila Gurrie, Chief Election Officer Sky Snelgrove Deputy Chief Election Officer