MINUTES

INAUGURAL OPEN PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE MEETING SERVICE AND RESOURCE CENTRE BOARDROOM, 411 DUNSMUIR STREET, NANAIMO, BC TUESDAY, 2016-SEP-06, AT 4:30 P.M.

PRESENT:

Members:

Councillor J. A. Kipp

Councillor I. W. Thorpe J. Horn, Social Planner C. Richardson, Fire Chief

S. Rupa, Manager, Police Support Services

B. Parker

Absent:

Councillor W. M. Yoachim

Staff:

T. Samra, Chief Administrative Officer

R. Davidson, Manager of Bylaw, Regulation and Security Supt. M. Fisher, OIC, Nanaimo Detachment RCMP

B. Anderson, Manager of Community and Cultural Planning

S. Gurrie, City Clerk

M. Brown, Recording Secretary

1. CALL THE INAUGURAL PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE MEETING TO ORDER:

The Inaugural Public Safety Meeting was called to order at 4:38 p.m.

2. WELCOME:

Ms. T. Samra, Chief Administrative Officer, provided a welcome to committee members.

3. <u>APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR</u>

It was moved and seconded that the Public Safety Committee appoint Councillor Kipp as Chair for the remainder of 2016. The motion carried unanimously.

It was moved and seconded that the Public Safety Committee appoint Councillor Thorpe as Vice-Chair for the remainder of 2016. The motion carried unanimously.

4. TERMS OF REFERENCE:

Committee discussion took place regarding the old and new Terms of Reference.

5. <u>MEMBERSHIP</u>

It was moved and seconded that Staff representatives prepare a list of identifiable groups and resources that would contribute to the committee's mandate and report back to the committee at its next meeting on 06-OCT-2016. The motion carried unanimously.

6. ADJOURNMENT:

It was moved and seconded that the meeting terminate at 5:24 p.m. The motion carried unanimously.

CERTIFIED CORRECT: