Nominate someone for a Culture & Heritage Award

Deadline: November 17, 2017



NOMINATION FORM Culture & Heritage Awards



Name of Individual / Organization (Recipient)								
Home	Ph.		Mobile Ph.			Email		
Address				City			Postal Code	
Award Category (select one)		Excellence in Culture			r in Culture			Honour in Heritage (*New!)
		Emerging Cultural Leader 🔲 John Thomson Heritage Memorial						
Name of Contact Person (Nominator)								
Home Ph.			Mobile Ph.	Em		Email		
Address				City	ïty		Postal	
 will the person or organization (recipient)be available to attend the awards ceremony in April 2018? will the person or organization (recipient) be available upon request for photo and video shoot? will you (nominator) be available to communicate with event organizers and assist in gathering nominator information? 								
Persons supporting this nomination (please provide a minimum of two)								
(print name) (signature)								
1.						Ph	one	
2.						Ph	one	
3.						Ph	one	
4.						Ph	one	
5.						Ph	one	
6.						Ph	one	
Please attach all pertinent information / documentation to support the nomination (a description of their background of up to 300 words, letters of support, etc.). For additional information please contact Chris Barfoot, 250-755-7522.								
Please submit completed nomination forms to:								
c/o Cul Culture	unity & Cultu ture & Herita and Heritag	-	In Person: Community & Cultural Planning c/o Culture and Heritage Service & Resource Centre 411 Dummuni Struct Naming DC					
By Email: 411 Dunsmuir Street, Nanaimo, BC cultureandheritage@nanaimo.ca								
Deadline for 2018 nominations is November 17, 2017 (no later than 4:30 pm).								



Culture SHeritage

About the Culture & Heritage Awards

The City of Nanaimo recognizes outstanding organizations, groups and individuals in the arts, culture and heritage fields. This is your opportunity to recognize people and groups that you believe have made a significant contribution to making Nanaimo a culturally vibrant city.

Award Categories

Excellence in Culture

Presented to an organization or individual that has achieved regional and/or national recognition in the field of arts and is recognized as a "Nanaimo Artist," has demonstrated excellence in their field, and is a significant inspiration to others. Past recipients include music teacher Brian Stovel (internationally acclaimed jazz pianist), Diana Krall (singer), Lynne Bowen (author and historian), Carole Martyn (Kirkwood Academy of the Performing Arts), Pat Coleman (international jazz musician and guitar instructor at VIU), Grant Leier and Nixie Barton (Barton & Leier Gallery), and Susan Juby (Creative Writing Department at VIU) and Jacqui Kaese (Spotlight Academy).

Honour in Culture

Presented to an individual, group or corporation known for their dedication and support of the development of Nanaimo's cultural sector. Past recipients include Thora Howell (literary arts supporter), Arts Alive Summer School of the Fine Arts, Sandra Thomson (arts advocate), Ian Niamath (award winning architect and president of the Nanaimo Art Gallery Board), Arlene Blundell (Nanaimo Theatre Group), Debbie Trueman (Manager of the Nanaimo Museum) and Gerda Hofman (artist).

Emerging Cultural Leader

Recognizes up-and-coming, Nanaimo-based cultural leaders. This award targets individuals under 30 years of age who have contributed significantly to the cultural life in Nanaimo. Recipients must be recognized by their peers and the community as a whole, to have given distinguished service in arts and culture and / or have been recognized for excellence in an arts or cultural field. Past recipients include Shayd Johnson (2014), Amanda Scott (2015) and Alyssa Glassford (2016).



Honour in Heritage

Presented to an individual, group or corporation who demonstrates outstanding support, advocacy, promotion or interpretation of Nanaimo's heritage and history. This is a new award category for 2018.

John Thomson Heritage Memorial

Created in 1994 to honour individuals who demonstrate outstanding heritage service and dedication to the community. Past recipients of the award include Catherine Gisborne (1994), Elizabeth Norcross (1996), Daphne Paterson (2001), Pamela Mar (2003), David Spearing (2004), Clarence Karr (2005), Gino Sedola (2007), Parker Williams (2009), John Cass (2011), Jill Stannard (2013) and John Hofman (2016).

Please submit completed nomination forms to:

By Mail: Community & Cultural Planning c/o Culture & Heritage 455 Wallace Street, Nanaimo, BC V9R 5J6

By Email: cultureandheritage@nanaimo.ca In Person: Community & Cultural Planning c/o Culture and Heritage Service & Resource Centre 411 Dunsmuir Street, Nanaimo, BC

Deadline for 2018 nominations is November 17, 2017 (no later than 4:30 pm).